Hazel Allan portraitHazel has a keen interest in literacy issues. She previously worked with underprivileged children as part of the Early Intervention Programme, established to tackle low literacy levels, and with children on the verge of exclusion from secondary school.

Bree McCready and the Half-Heart Locket was her first novel. Scottish Book Trust hailed it as Recommended Reading. Bree McCready and the Flame of Irenus came hot on its heels and enthralled Hazel’s fans. Bree McCready and the Realm of the Lost was launched in late 2012 and completes the trilogy.

Many have pointed out that there are two sides to Hazel’s novels. ON the one hand, thrilling fantasy adventure; on the other, a deep understanding and empathy with the emotions of younger people.

Hazel Allan lives in Edinburgh, Scotland.

  • Book Author

  • Reading Level

  • Genre

  • Subject

  • Series